Home » Motorsports

Ford Mustang Cobra Jets dominate at NHRA U.S. Nationals

By - September 6, 2013 – 11:49 amNo Comment | 1,017 views

The Ford Mustang Cobra Jet defended its title in the war of the manufacturers last weekend in Indianapolis, where the popular Stock car and its drivers dominated the Factory Stock Showdown on drag racing’s biggest stage.

Chris Holbrook, carrying the colors for Varsity Ford of Ann Arbor, Mich., Watson Racing of Grosse Isle, Mich., and his own company Holbrook Racing Engines, easily handled the competition to advance to the finals, where he faced none other than Dave Connelly – the talented driver/crew chief combo who’s made a name for himself in the Pro Stock ranks and looked to back up his 2012 US Nationals Pro Stock victory with a win in the highly competitive Factory Showdown.

The Factory Stock Showdown features the hottest muscle cars coming out of Detroit, including the Cobra Jet, Dodge Mopar Challenger Drag Pak and Chevy COPO Camaro. This year, 27 drivers from around the country vied to win the title of quickest car for their manufacturer.

In order to accommodate the wide variety of engines types on the market, this year’s Showdown was divided into two categories: FS/DC and FS/AC. The winners of both categories faced each other in the final, with a handicap advantage going to the less-powerful FS/AC entry.

Holbrook is known for making big Cobra Jet power and Connelly knew he had to cut a great light, instead the 2012 US Nationals Pro Stock champ went red, and Holbrook went to the winners circle as the 2013 Factory Stock Showdown champion. This was the third heads-up win of the event for a Cobra Jet over a Copo.

It was a good weekend for Ford, who won 15 titles overall – including in the Mello Yello Funny Car finals, with John Force Racing’s Robert Hight.

U.S. Nationals Winners (Indianapolis)
Nitro Funny Car Winner
Robert Hight (2013 Mustang Nitro Funny Car)

Super Stock Winners
Ray Skillman, SS/AAA (2010 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Gary Summers, SS/N (1985 Mustang)
Brett Candies, SS/DA (2010 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Anthony Bongiovanni, SS/BA (2008 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Ray Paquet, SS/B (1964 Ford Fairlane)

Stock Winners
Chris Holbrook, FS/DC and Factory Stock (2013 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Drew Skillman, AAA/SA (2012 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Mike Skinner, AA/SA (2012 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Peter Biondo, CC/SA (2010 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Mike Ficacci, C/SA (2012 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Charlie Downing, F/S (2010 Mustang Cobra Jet)
Marty Buth, Q/SA (1983 Mustang)
Ron Seibenick, Combo Auto Class (1984 Mercury Topaz)
Gary Summers, Combo Stick Class (1978 Mustang)

[Source: Ford Racing]

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.