Home » Motorsports

Vaughn Gittin Jr. claims back-to-back Formula Drift victories with win in Miami

By - June 1, 2014 – 2:40 pmNo Comment | 960 views

Vaughn Gittin Jr. Ford Mustang RTR

Vaughn Gittin Jr. made it back to back wins in Formula Drift with a dominating performance at Homestead-Miami Speedway this weekend in his Monster Energy / Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR. Gittin started off the event on the right foot by finishing a close second in qualifying, laying down an impressive run on the track being used for the first time in Formula Drift. He then took out fan favorite Danny George to make it into the round of 16 and then defeated Jhonnattan Castra to get into the final eight. From there Gittin faced several tough battles to make it into the final, but ended up beating both championship contender Fredric Aasbo as well as Kenny Moen to make it into the finals. There he faced points leader Chris Forsberg in a battle that could possibly have championship implications. It was Gittin who eventually came out on top, marking the second time he’s won two straight events in Formula Drift.

“It feels really amazing to be here and come to a brand new track and work with my team to get my Monster Energy, Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR on rails to be able to hit every mark and compete with some of the best drivers in the world,” said Gittin after the event. “Back to back wins is just amazing and we are working hard and it just feels good that its paying off and I’m just pumped.”

Gittin is now second in the overall standings, just ten points behind leader Chris Forsberg after three of seven events. Fellow Mustang driver Justin Pawlak is in a solid fifth place, and Ford currently reside in first place in the manufacturers championship.

The next Formula Drift event is at Wall Speedway in New Jersey from June 20-21.

[Source: Formula Drift]

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.